General Help and Quick Questions

Need help with any SMBX game-related issues? Ask your questions here.
yoorest2
Koopa
Koopa
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2022 8:59 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby yoorest2 » Thu Apr 14, 2022 6:02 am

how to make boss drop something? or make boss that wont after killing him go to map instead of credits?

Draco_Flare
Goomba
Goomba
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2022 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby Draco_Flare » Wed Apr 20, 2022 10:37 pm

Hey, I been wanting to make a smbx world but I haven't able to make the levels work on the world and do not know how to make the end credits.
Last edited by Draco_Flare on Wed Apr 20, 2022 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Okton3999
Shy Guy
Shy Guy
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2022 4:36 pm
Pronouns: he/him
Contact:

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby Okton3999 » Tue May 10, 2022 1:13 am

yoorest2 wrote:
Thu Apr 14, 2022 6:02 am
how to make boss drop something? or make boss that wont after killing him go to map instead of credits?
In SMBX 1.3.0.1: if you want that the boss drops a hazard, you can make a layer with a generator of that hazard and make the boss attached to that layer (select the NPC that is the boss, go to "Events" and choose the layer in "Attach to Layer").

If you want that the boss drops something that ends the level: if the boss is a Birdo or a Boom Boom, you can activate the "Legacy Boss", that can be found in the "Advanced" section. If that is not the case (or if you prefer using this way), you have to create a layer with the NPC that ends the level and make an event that shows this layer. After creating these things, go to the NPC that is the boss, click on "Events" and choose the event in "Death".

This video can be helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMTjHSk-8WQ.
Draco_Flare wrote: Hey, I been wanting to make a smbx world but I haven't able to make the levels work on the world and do not know how to make the end credits.
In SMBX 1.3.0.1, before placing a level in the World editor, you have to write the name that the archive of the level has in "Level Filename". The Credits can be changed in "Settings".

yoorest2
Koopa
Koopa
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2022 8:59 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby yoorest2 » Tue May 10, 2022 8:41 am

Okton3999 wrote:
Tue May 10, 2022 1:13 am
yoorest2 wrote:
Thu Apr 14, 2022 6:02 am
how to make boss drop something? or make boss that wont after killing him go to map instead of credits?
In SMBX 1.3.0.1: if you want that the boss drops a hazard, you can make a layer with a generator of that hazard and make the boss attached to that layer (select the NPC that is the boss, go to "Events" and choose the layer in "Attach to Layer").

If you want that the boss drops something that ends the level: if the boss is a Birdo or a Boom Boom, you can activate the "Legacy Boss", that can be found in the "Advanced" section. If that is not the case (or if you prefer using this way), you have to create a layer with the NPC that ends the level and make an event that shows this layer. After creating these things, go to the NPC that is the boss, click on "Events" and choose the event in "Death".

This video can be helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMTjHSk-8WQ.
Draco_Flare wrote: Hey, I been wanting to make a smbx world but I haven't able to make the levels work on the world and do not know how to make the end credits.
In SMBX 1.3.0.1, before placing a level in the World editor, you have to write the name that the archive of the level has in "Level Filename". The Credits can be changed in "Settings".
but i'm on smbx 2.0

Okton3999
Shy Guy
Shy Guy
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2022 4:36 pm
Pronouns: he/him
Contact:

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby Okton3999 » Tue May 10, 2022 12:51 pm

yoorest2 wrote:
Thu Apr 14, 2022 6:02 am
but i'm on smbx 2.0
I don't know if it helps, but, from what I read in the SMBX2 b4 Handbook, you can still use Events and Layers to make a boss drop something :).

"Open the “Layers” and “Events” windows respectively. Together, these can be used to create moving layers and toggle layer visibility. Events can further be used to play sound effects, lock player input, manipulate the section and even execute lua code (using LunaLua’s onEvent event)".

viewtopic.php?f=105&t=25425

yoorest2
Koopa
Koopa
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2022 8:59 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby yoorest2 » Wed May 11, 2022 12:25 pm

Okton3999 wrote:
Tue May 10, 2022 12:51 pm
yoorest2 wrote:
Thu Apr 14, 2022 6:02 am
but i'm on smbx 2.0
I don't know if it helps, but, from what I read in the SMBX2 b4 Handbook, you can still use Events and Layers to make a boss drop something :).

"Open the “Layers” and “Events” windows respectively. Together, these can be used to create moving layers and toggle layer visibility. Events can further be used to play sound effects, lock player input, manipulate the section and even execute lua code (using LunaLua’s onEvent event)".

viewtopic.php?f=105&t=25425
ok

yoorest2
Koopa
Koopa
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2022 8:59 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby yoorest2 » Sat May 14, 2022 2:07 am

Okton3999 wrote:
Tue May 10, 2022 12:51 pm
yoorest2 wrote:
Thu Apr 14, 2022 6:02 am
but i'm on smbx 2.0
I don't know if it helps, but, from what I read in the SMBX2 b4 Handbook, you can still use Events and Layers to make a boss drop something :).

"Open the “Layers” and “Events” windows respectively. Together, these can be used to create moving layers and toggle layer visibility. Events can further be used to play sound effects, lock player input, manipulate the section and even execute lua code (using LunaLua’s onEvent event)".

viewtopic.php?f=105&t=25425
i can't find it so i'll keep using my old boss fights

POPME
Dolphin
Dolphin
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2021 11:04 pm
Flair: The Annoying Luna.Lua Questions Guy
Pronouns: He/Him
Contact:

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby POPME » Mon May 16, 2022 12:53 pm

This will be hard to explain

So I have this problem in which I would make layers appear with the help of a block, I'll call this block "block 1". The thing is that other hidden layers which were meant to be activated by a different block, let's call that one "block 2", get activated by block 1 when they are not meant to be activated

I hope someone understood this, and if they did, please help me

deice
Snifit
Snifit
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2021 7:35 am

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby deice » Mon May 16, 2022 2:13 pm

POPME wrote:
Mon May 16, 2022 12:53 pm
This will be hard to explain

So I have this problem in which I would make layers appear with the help of a block, I'll call this block "block 1". The thing is that other hidden layers which were meant to be activated by a different block, let's call that one "block 2", get activated by block 1 when they are not meant to be activated

I hope someone understood this, and if they did, please help me
even if someone does understand it'll be much easier to identify the problem if you uploaded your level file for people to view.

POPME
Dolphin
Dolphin
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2021 11:04 pm
Flair: The Annoying Luna.Lua Questions Guy
Pronouns: He/Him
Contact:

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby POPME » Mon May 16, 2022 3:47 pm

deice wrote:
Mon May 16, 2022 2:13 pm
POPME wrote:
Mon May 16, 2022 12:53 pm
This will be hard to explain

So I have this problem in which I would make layers appear with the help of a block, I'll call this block "block 1". The thing is that other hidden layers which were meant to be activated by a different block, let's call that one "block 2", get activated by block 1 when they are not meant to be activated

I hope someone understood this, and if they did, please help me
even if someone does understand it'll be much easier to identify the problem if you uploaded your level file for people to view.
Oh you're right, I never thought about that

Here it is: https://www.mediafire.com/file/33de12yy ... l.zip/file

PD: The on/off switch closer to the start of the level is block 1, the second one that's closer to the start is block 2

deice
Snifit
Snifit
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2021 7:35 am

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby deice » Mon May 16, 2022 5:19 pm

POPME wrote:
Mon May 16, 2022 3:47 pm
Oh you're right, I never thought about that

Here it is: https://www.mediafire.com/file/33de12yy ... l.zip/file

PD: The on/off switch closer to the start of the level is block 1, the second one that's closer to the start is block 2
i believe the issue stems from a quirk of the engine regarding case-sensitivity (or lack thereof) of layer and event names.
renaming the layers and events "A" and "W" to "AA" and "WW" fixed it on my end.


Return to “Help and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest