Map error(s)

Need help with any SMBX game-related issues? Ask your questions here.
turtwig1123
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:56 pm
Current Project: in growtopia: 8bit, in smbx: mario's nightmare

Map error(s)

Postby turtwig1123 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 12:04 pm

I've been working on my project for a while now but a couple of days ago when I opened the world map I was editing it said something along these lines:
runtime error '6'
overflow

Does anybody know what's wrong and how I could fix it.
me in growtopia:
Image
me in smbx (not really, but you get the idea):
Image

icemario12
Hoopster
Hoopster
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:49 pm
Current Project: The art of getting good grades
Chat Username: iceyboi
Contact:

Re: Map error(s)

Postby icemario12 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:01 pm

Actually, that happened to me once. I think it happens when you place a level with X Y transport coordinates, while the level itself has that coordinate too. Try removing one of them and see what happens.
Image

HEY, THIS GAME SERIES IS FUN.

You could even say that...
it's li- gets kicked in the shin

turtwig1123
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:56 pm
Current Project: in growtopia: 8bit, in smbx: mario's nightmare

Re: Map error(s)

Postby turtwig1123 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:07 pm

icemario12 wrote:Actually, that happened to me once. I think it happens when you place a level with X Y transport coordinates, while the level itself has that coordinate too. Try removing one of them and see what happens.
I cant remove any levels from the map because the editor closes right after I open the world map :s
me in growtopia:
Image
me in smbx (not really, but you get the idea):
Image

User avatar
FallingSnow
Ninji
Ninji
Posts: 822
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:32 am

Re: Map error(s)

Postby FallingSnow » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:45 am

Remove any custom graphics if you have any before you try to open it.

turtwig1123
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:56 pm
Current Project: in growtopia: 8bit, in smbx: mario's nightmare

Re: Map error(s)

Postby turtwig1123 » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:47 am

FallingSnow wrote:Remove any custom graphics if you have any before you try to open it.
I haven't used any custom graphic on the map...
or are you talking about inside any of the levels?
me in growtopia:
Image
me in smbx (not really, but you get the idea):
Image

Chad
Ripper II
Ripper II
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:22 pm

Re: Map error(s)

Postby Chad » Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:33 pm

I'm having the same problem, where the error occurs the moment I open it. There's not a lot you can do to fix it in that case, you might have to start over. I know that's unfortunate, depending on how far along you were.

What I'd recommend doing is starting over, but saving often. For each successful save, make a copy of it somewhere else. That way, if this happens again, you have a backup you can work with, and it might be easier to figure out what went wrong.
I'm not active too much on the forums anymore, but my PM inbox is available if you need anything.

Also, I make Super Mario Maker levels sometimes! (Don't mind the awful NNID.)

User avatar
Pseudo
Peach
Peach
Posts: 5543
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:04 am
Current Project: ???

Re: Map error(s)

Postby Pseudo » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:11 pm

Yeah, seemingly random world map corruption (with this error) is a long-known problem, unfortunately. It has affected a lot of people in the past. As Chad said, we don't really know what causes it or how to fix it. My advice is to do the world map as the absolute last thing, since it won't even matter if the file gets corrupted in the editor, seeing as it can still be run in-game.
its ya girl pseudo and im back on a provisional basis

"sterydy Behemoth expiable novae iconically night owl ticklish turbocharger bactrian riveting . Solidus quits frothy managua scrimper shadowy enthusiastically rearrangement curviness matronliness pinyin piroshki gradual hysterically locker room versed . Horrendous unicorn transnational parka lasso very forbiddingly laborsaving cochabamba hair-raising floozy philter transnational ."
- a spam account, 2016


turtwig1123
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:56 pm
Current Project: in growtopia: 8bit, in smbx: mario's nightmare

Re: Map error(s)

Postby turtwig1123 » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:07 pm

actually no, I tried to play the map but it wouldn't work ether
well looks like ill have to remake the map :/
me in growtopia:
Image
me in smbx (not really, but you get the idea):
Image

User avatar
Bj007pro
Banned
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:05 pm

Re: Map error(s)

Postby Bj007pro » Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:59 pm

You can even try to edit your World file with a notepad editor just open it up with the program, save a copy first, then delete some lines at the bottom.
then try to load it again if you get the error still delete a few more. This worked for me when I was get the same error on one of my level files.
Don't Be Afraid To Take a Shot Than To Take A Shot Being Afraid - Bj007pro

Great Forum to talk about Nearly Anything - chillaxforum.proboards.com

Dark Doopliss
Shy Guy
Shy Guy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 5:34 pm

Re: Map error(s)

Postby Dark Doopliss » Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:15 pm

turtwig1123 wrote:
FallingSnow wrote:Remove any custom graphics if you have any before you try to open it.
I haven't used any custom graphic on the map...
or are you talking about inside any of the levels?
Oh, that's my problem. I used a custom graphic on the overworld.

Dark Doopliss
Shy Guy
Shy Guy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 5:34 pm

Re: Map error(s)

Postby Dark Doopliss » Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:34 pm

Dark Doopliss wrote:
turtwig1123 wrote:
FallingSnow wrote:Remove any custom graphics if you have any before you try to open it.
I haven't used any custom graphic on the map...
or are you talking about inside any of the levels?
Oh, that's my problem. I used a custom graphic on the overworld.
Never mind. It didn't work.

Lord_Zer0
Goomba
Goomba
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:42 am

Re: Map error(s)

Postby Lord_Zer0 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:20 pm

I've also had the overflow error but when the gondola i've made stops. It uses events to move but when it stops the game decides to crash.. The level is tiny with about 300 blocks so it can't be size.. Any help would be much appreciated.

SpectralProjection
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:43 pm

Re: Map error(s)

Postby SpectralProjection » Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:32 pm

So what tips does anyone have to avoid this dilemma?

@psuedo dino - is making the world map last to avoid this problem, as a preference, or both? I'm quite partial yo making the world map first. Actually in almost every creative activity I like to try and picture the finished piece then whittle it down slowly. It also seems to help me devise shortcuts and secret areas and a general sense of the levels. Especially true in my newest project/idea where most of the levels can warp to others. Thats just me, though im still early enough on to just have "draft" world map(s) and not allocate the level files until its finished if you insist that will save me from the doom of making it again. (Although I also have it drawn on grid paper.)
I had a dream where I was asleep...
And then I flew away...

User avatar
h2643
Ludwig von Koopa
Ludwig von Koopa
Posts: 2881
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 7:23 am
Flair: Украинец
Current Project: RL
Chat Username: h/hnumbers

Re: Map error(s)

Postby h2643 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:12 am

Yes, never add special characters to the world title.


Return to “Help and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests