Page 2 of 3

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:35 am
by 1AmPlayer
your best way to get rid of the player npcs in the intro for 1.3 is by blocking the sides of the level. Probably with lava so the players can't glitch out of their way. @ThePieSkyHigh

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:53 am
by Hoeloe
sammerbro wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:11 pm

I've used 1.3, but I don't think they are removable, sorry
Why did you just post about 6 posts giving completely false information then?

The intro screen automatically adds those and no they cannot be removed in 1.3. You should really consider using SMBX2, though, as it's an updated version of the engine.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:26 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
sammerbro wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:11 pm
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:09 pm
sammerbro wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:07 pm

The NPCs that jump around are the winged Koopas and Goombas
Use the Eraser on them then
Have you ever used 1.3?

What are the Links and Peachs and Marios and Luigis that run around advancing through the level in intro??? I mean THOSE
I've used 1.3, but I don't think they are removable, sorry
Ok. heheh

Added in 1 minute 14 seconds:
1AmPlayer wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:35 am
your best way to get rid of the player npcs in the intro for 1.3 is by blocking the sides of the level. Probably with lava so the players can't glitch out of their way. @ThePieSkyHigh
Yea I tried but items just keep flinging from the side and death sprites keep appearing like its so annoying XD

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 4:37 pm
by Hoeloe
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:27 pm
Yea I tried but items just keep flinging from the side and death sprites keep appearing like its so annoying XD
Again - this is already done for you if you're not using an old version of the engine. Give SMBX2 a try.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 4:39 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
Hoeloe wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 4:37 pm
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:27 pm
Yea I tried but items just keep flinging from the side and death sprites keep appearing like its so annoying XD
Again - this is already done for you if you're not using an old version of the engine. Give SMBX2 a try.
I just wanted to see if I could, if I couldn't then it's fine. I have 2.0 but it's way too laggy

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:43 am
by Cedur
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:I have 2.0 but it's way too laggy

Probably your computer's fault, rather than the engine's.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:00 am
by Enjl
Cedur wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:43 am
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:I have 2.0 but it's way too laggy

Probably your computer's fault, rather than the engine's.
Progress Sheet says we still have do some performance sweeps, so...
Image

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:01 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
Cedur wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:43 am
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:I have 2.0 but it's way too laggy

Probably your computer's fault, rather than the engine's.
Yea, of course, it had to be MY FAULT right?
ahahahahahaha
It's laggy. I didn't say what caused it. I know that already

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:02 am
by Cedur
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:01 pm
Cedur wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:43 am
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:I have 2.0 but it's way too laggy

Probably your computer's fault, rather than the engine's.
Yea, of course, it had to be MY FAULT right?
ahahahahahaha
It's laggy. I didn't say what caused it. I know that already

Is your computer actually a good one?

and what do you mean by lag exactly? Does it lag in-game? (that I only know from 1.3 and 38A)
Or do you just say it has a longer loading time? That's really no issue

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:12 am
by Creasion
Enjl wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:02 pm
ini_examples isn't even present in more recent releases of SMBX2 anymore. The hardcoded graphics have always been stored in graphics/hardcoded anyway and can be overwritten on a per-episode basis just like how you would do any custom graphic.
If you change any default assets you will be met with an abundance of sighs and displeasure.
I'm actually using SMBX 1.3, how do you overwrite the title font? Because i'm making my own custom episode.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:46 am
by Hoeloe
Creasion wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:12 am

I'm actually using SMBX 1.3, how do you overwrite the title font? Because i'm making my own custom episode.
You can't. Plain and simple. ini_examples didn't even exist in 1.3, it was added to SMBX2 to highlight some of the new features. If you want to use those new features, use SMBX2 (though if you do, please don't modify anything outside your episode worlds folder, because it risks wrecking your install).

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:59 am
by Cedur
You can make an intro screen for your own episode that appears right away when starting it. It’s just not the menu screen of the game itself. Check e.g. Yoshi’s Archipelago

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:31 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
Cedur wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:02 am
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:01 pm
Cedur wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:43 am



Probably your computer's fault, rather than the engine's.
Yea, of course, it had to be MY FAULT right?
ahahahahahaha
It's laggy. I didn't say what caused it. I know that already

Is your computer actually a good one?

and what do you mean by lag exactly? Does it lag in-game? (that I only know from 1.3 and 38A)
Or do you just say it has a longer loading time? That's really no issue
I changed my computer's CPU for the best there is for this type. 2.00 GHz, dual-core, yea
And no it lags when im playing an episode or in other words yes in game. It's like playing red light green light with me

SlowWWwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
fASSTTTSTS DONT DIE

slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww


AHH A GOOMBA

slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

i cant play like this

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:42 pm
by Hoeloe
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:31 pm
I changed my computer's CPU for the best there is for this type. 2.00 GHz, dual-core, yea
If you're living in 2001, then yeah this sounds like the best CPU of its type. Unfortunately for you, it's 2019 and technology has moved on a little. This is likely a severely underpowered processor, but it's more likely your graphics card that is the problem.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:44 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
Hoeloe wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:42 pm
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:31 pm
I changed my computer's CPU for the best there is for this type. 2.00 GHz, dual-core, yea
If you're living in 2001, then yeah this sounds like the best CPU of its type. Unfortunately for you, it's 2019 and technology has moved on a little. This is likely a severely underpowered processor, but it's more likely your graphics card that is the problem.
True tbh

Well not everyone can afford good processors to play Super Mario Bros on their computer.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:45 pm
by Hoeloe
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:44 pm
True tbh

Well not everyone can afford good processors to play Super Mario Bros on their computer.
You don't need a good processor, just not one that's almost 20 years old. People are happily running this on machines that are 10 years old, but 20 is stretching it.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:48 pm
by Cedur
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:44 pm
Hoeloe wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:42 pm
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:31 pm
I changed my computer's CPU for the best there is for this type. 2.00 GHz, dual-core, yea
If you're living in 2001, then yeah this sounds like the best CPU of its type. Unfortunately for you, it's 2019 and technology has moved on a little. This is likely a severely underpowered processor, but it's more likely your graphics card that is the problem.
True tbh

Well not everyone can afford good processors to play Super Mario Bros on their computer.

but yeah let's just blame the game instead ...

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:16 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
Cedur wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:48 pm
but yeah let's just blame the game instead ...
I'm not blaming the game, sheesh. I didn't say my processor was good either. Why does everything I say be taken in as an insult or offensive?
I only said it's too laggy for me. I didn't say what was laggy, and I didn't even say it was bad.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:46 am
by ElmerMouseFan34
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:09 pm


Have you ever used 1.3?

What are the Links and Peachs and Marios and Luigis that run around advancing through the level in intro??? I mean THOSE
Try to make them invisible just for the intro level. If there's a folder called intro (it has been a while since I played it, so Idk if it will work), make the playable characters "invisible" and that might work,just like as if you wanted to make different characters for specific levels in an episode. But I don't know if the end result is what you intended.

Edit: I just noticed that a lot of people replied and maybe I was too late to reply.

Re: [HELP!] How do you change the SMBX TITLE FONT?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 5:01 pm
by ThePieSkyHigh
ElmerMouseFan34 wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:46 am
ThePieSkyHigh wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:09 pm


Have you ever used 1.3?

What are the Links and Peachs and Marios and Luigis that run around advancing through the level in intro??? I mean THOSE
Try to make them invisible just for the intro level. If there's a folder called intro (it has been a while since I played it, so Idk if it will work), make the playable characters "invisible" and that might work,just like as if you wanted to make different characters for specific levels in an episode. But I don't know if the end result is what you intended.

Edit: I just noticed that a lot of people replied and maybe I was too late to reply.
That might work, but it probably won't work for me like everything else