Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Need help with any SMBX game-related issues? Ask your questions here.
User avatar
BluZombie
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:00 pm
Current Project: anything, really
Chat Username: Blu

Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Postby BluZombie » Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:13 pm

So I've been trying to make a Kraken boss fight, but even a 32x32 block of water causes my game to crash. It doesn't matter where I save the level, it still breaks and doesn't let me touch liquid. Even a completely blank level doesn't work with ONLY water and Mario doesn't work. Are there any solutions to this problem?
When you live in a world where nothing makes sense, after a while, it does.

I support:
Image

User avatar
Hoeloe
Kamikaze Koopa
Kamikaze Koopa
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 6:18 pm
Flair: The Codehaus Girl
Current Project: A2XT Episode 2

Re: Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Postby Hoeloe » Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:35 pm

This sounds like a 38A bug. Are you using SMBX38A?

User avatar
BluZombie
Koopa Troopa
Koopa Troopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:00 pm
Current Project: anything, really
Chat Username: Blu

Re: Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Postby BluZombie » Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:43 pm

yes, I'm using 1.4.4/38A to make this boss. There weren't any of these problems prior to this one level, because I had been making a water world and now it suddenly refuses to work
When you live in a world where nothing makes sense, after a while, it does.

I support:
Image

Enjl
Cute Yoshi Egg
Cute Yoshi Egg
Posts: 8449
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:58 pm
Flair: Orphion Egamalenitar Osmos IV, Esq.

Re: Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Postby Enjl » Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:51 am

I believe this error is patched on SMBX38A 1.4.5, or at least one of its many patches.
The ABC of Creation
________________________________________________________
Image

User avatar
Cigarettes
Spiny
Spiny
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:15 am
Chat Username: Cigs

Re: Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Postby Cigarettes » Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:04 pm

I get the same thing sometimes on 1.3 what can i do to avoid this?

User avatar
Cedur
Toad
Toad
Posts: 6209
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 10:14 am

Re: Runtime error 9 on any and all Water

Postby Cedur » Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:13 am

Cigarettes wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:04 pm
I get the same thing sometimes on 1.3 what can i do to avoid this?

That's odd, considering that this is like the most notorious bug that 1.4 is known for.

(and yes it's patched in 1.4.5.

and I heard the prior solution to it was just having some NPC in the level)
Image
More Supports: show

Image
Image

Still using the legacy editor? Get SMBX2 and PGE, it will improve your experience significantly. Here's why. And remember, Yoshis are tools to be used and discarded.

ShadowStarX (06/14/18) wrote: South Korea is easy deal


Return to “Help and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests